Monday, December 1, 2014

Sofia the First: Holiday in Enchancia by Catherine Hapka

Title: Sofia the First: Holiday in Enchancia
Author: Catherine Hapka
Genre: Picture Books, Fantasy
Reading Level: Ages 3-8
Multicultural: Portrays a family with step-siblings and step-parents in a positive way

Sofia the First: Holiday in Enchancia is a picture book based on the episode of the same name about Sofia’s first Wasssailia as a princess.  She is used to a quiet holiday with her mom, but is excited about the more extravagant celebration at the castle her step-siblings have told her about. When her dad (i.e. the King) does not come home before the celebration, the family instead ends up going out in search of him. In the end, they celebrate Wassailia much like Sofia is used to with the kindness of a woodsman’s family and Sofia shares her present’s with the woodsman’s children.

Overall Sofia the First Holiday in Enchancia makes a good book for the Christmas season, as it teaches about sharing and that the best part of the holiday is being together. The visual appeal of the book is not just in the illustrations, but also in the handwritten looking text. This makes the text more interesting and really makes the text part of the illustrations. Additionally, this style emphasizes words with different coloring and styling.

Types of Readers Book Might Appeal To & Multiple Intelligence Categories
  • Fans of Sofia the First and Disney Princesses (Aurora from Sleeping Beauty makes a brief appearance)
  • Visual leaners may enjoy how the text is stylized and words are emphasized with color. (Spatial-Visual)
  • Animal lovers may enjoy how Sofia can communicate with animals and they help find her dad. (Naturalistic)
Activities for Further Learning and Fun
Related Books I've Reviewed


Subscribe below to be notified by e-mail when new reviews are posted.

Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner

Follow by Email