Thursday, March 6, 2014

Disney Minnie: Pretty in Pink - A Lift-the-Flap Book by Bill Scollon

Title: Pretty in Pink
Author: Bill Scollon
Genre: Picture Book
Reading Level: Ages 3 to 5
Curriculum Subjects: Colors, Shapes, and Counting


Pretty in Pink is an oversized board book set in Minnie's Bow-tique.  Each page has many flaps to flip open to find what the page prompts the reader to look for, such as certain shapes or colors.  The prompts go quite well with the book's simple plot about a day at the Bow-tique and celebrating with a picnic at the end of the day.

This is a fun book for working on concepts such as colors, shapes, matching, and counting.  With 8 to 10 flaps per page there is also a lot to discover on each page, so even though it is a short book it has a lot of depth.  Beyond just taking time to find what each page ask you to find, there are also flaps that open to show different things happening in the scene such as Figaro spilling paint and Minnie picking flowers.  There is even a hidden Mickey to discover.

Types of Readers Book Might Appeal To & Multiple Intelligence Categories
  • Fans of Minnie Mouse and Minnie's Bow-Toons
  • The flaps that reveal a variety of things and actions in the scene may make this a good selection to help motivate visual learners to read. (Visual-Spatial)
  • The flaps also make it a fun book for those that learn better through hands on interaction. (Bodily-Kinesthetic)
Activities for Further Learning and Fun
Related Books I've Reviewed

Subscribe below to be notified by e-mail when new reviews are posted.

Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow by Email